26
Mar
09

Summit Brewery Volunteer

You all are looking at the newest volunteer for Summit Brewery. I have been waiting for this for about a couple years now. It all started when my good friend Phil who works in the same building as me posed the question that if he got a chance, he is a volunteer as well, that he could get me on board if I would want to do it. Hell yeah I would, what better way to get closer to the brewing capital of Minnesota besides getting a job there. So a couple weeks ago Phil sent me an email from Big E, the lead volunteer, asking for people interested. I sent an email stating that I would be and sent him this blog link to show my love of beer. However I do not have any reviews of Summit but that is mostly because I try to keep it mostly unknown beers. Well right after my vacation I discovered an email from Big E asking for a “resume,” I use quotes because I had a feeling they were not looking for formal they were looking for personality. So I basically sent them something right off the top of my head. Here it is, keep in mind that there is a Simpson’s reference because I would get brownie points if I knew who the Stone Cutter were and there was a request to know my middle name as well.

Well, first off let me tell you that if I am picked I will still help to keep Atlantis off the map and keep the martians under wraps and will continue to make Steve Guttenberg a star, the last thing I want to do is have to pull the stone of shame.

Summit beer is is the reason I love craft beer. I remember picking up a six pack of Extra Pale Ale back in like ’96 or ’97 and thinking this is the most disgusting beer I have ever had. Keep in mind I had no idea of beer that is anything different than the macro domination that I grew up with. The disgust I had quickly went away after a second helping and I realized that not only did this beer pack more of a punch it actually had flavor. It did not take long for me to make your Great Northern Porter my staple beer for the next 3 or 4 years (Scandia Ale is now my summer staple).

The reason I think I would be great for this job is actually quite simple. I love beer. I don’t love beer as the way a college frat guy loves beer, I love to try all kinds of beer that is out there. Heck, I even still get a macro spin off just to see if they have finally got it yet… they have not. Summit was my catalyst, without it I would maybe be drinking wine or something. I love to get people trying new an exciting things and Summit is perfect because of its locality and the many styles that there is to choose from. Usually I start them off with a Pilsner, then a move on to Mai Bock and then start the IPA’s and Porters and you have all of those styles.

I am a beer lover. I blog about beer. I call liquor stores and bars ahead of time to make sure that they have what I am looking for. Heck I just got back from WI Dells today and before I left I posted a thread on BeerAdvocate.com asking what is the best place to get beer there (not a pretty picture by the way, one brew pub, one). I take it seriously. I am not out to get drunk, I want an experience, but if I happen to get drunk then so be it, I am not a snob. I am in the process of brewing my own beer. I read books on beer. I also like Star Trek and I am really into the Alt. country music right now but next year it could be something else. I know how to run a cash register, I can pour beer the proper way, I bike all year round, I can do public speaking (though to be honest I have never done it in front of a 120 person crowd but I am willing to dive right into it), and I can drink beer.

On, and my middle name is Danger… actually it is Ryan.

Thank you for your consideration.
Stuart “Danger” Raymond

About a week later I got the call to come in for the interview. Went in the other day, first person I met was Big E and the first thing we did was get a beer, I got the MaiBock which has a nice malt sweetness to it but not too rich, goes down nice and smooth. And then the interview began. Part of me thinks I already had the position, they just wanted to see if I wasn’t dressed as a pirate or wore a diaper on the outside of my pants. After the interview we had a couple more beers and I was on my way back home. Next day I got the email, I am chosen. So now I will have a once a month or more gig either working the gift shop, the bar, clean up and general assistance and eventually, the tour, which I have to say I am a bit nervous for that because I guess there can be up to a hundred people at a time. But they said they don’t throw people in there right away so I should ease into it just fine. Oh, and I get paid in beer and while I was there for the interview I was this close to getting a bottle of their new  Red Ale, maybe I will get lucky this Saturday when I go shadow. AWESOME!!!!!!!!

dsc06289


7 Responses to “Summit Brewery Volunteer”


  1. March 26, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Awesome news dude! Congrats.

    (I’ll no expect some freebies! Ha.)

  2. 2 dirtyspeed
    March 27, 2009 at 3:42 am

    When their new beer is in I will send you some.

  3. March 27, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Congrats bud! Hope you have a blast doing this.

  4. March 31, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Great blog man, very funny, very entertaining. You’ll do a great job leading the crowd at Summit. By the way, who do you go by on BeerAdvocate? I am starofindia.

  5. 6 dirtyspeed
    March 31, 2009 at 10:44 am

    Friday Night Beer. I rarely post.

  6. 7 zdubb
    April 1, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Good luck, you have seen Strange Brew?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

